I’m a fan of crime series, and I always try to figure out which camera the forensic photographers use in them. So it made me chuckle to realize that those in Trigger Point use a 1990 Zenit, even though the plot is set in the present day.

Although I don’t watch this series, other photographers apparently do, since I stumbled upon this on Kosmo Foto. Photographer David Collyer sent them a photo of his TV screen while watching an episode of Trigger Point, and it clearly shows the photographer shooting with a Zenit camera and an old Vivitar-branded hot shoe flash. As Kosmo Foto notices, this is Zenit-122 SLR, announced exactly 30 years ago, in 1990.

Stubborn as I am, I needed to find this episode and see this for myself. And I did. You don’t need to watch the whole episode if you don’t feel like it, but you’ll see the camera around 32:50. https://youtu.be/JH8is15BSp8 Of course, using a 1990s camera and flash would be perfectly fine if the plot was set in the 1990s – but it’s not. The rest of the technology is very 2020s, so I’m not sure why the prop department didn’t go for more modern photo gear. It doesn’t take away from the story, of course, but it’s just a fun thing to notice. If you’ve watched Trigger Point, have you also noticed the old camera and flash? And have you noticed anything similar in other TV series and movies that were set in the present day? [via Kosmo Foto]