Landscape photography is such a joy. It was probably the thing that got me into photography in the first place and since the lifting of the lockdowns I’ve been having an absolute blast getting outside and rediscovering my love of capturing epic scenery and sunsets (I’m definitely more of a sunset person than sunrise, particularly if I haven’t had coffee!). But it’s not easy. Two weeks ago I found myself at the top of a mountain lookout in the Pyrenees with nothing short of breathtaking views, and I found it very difficult to come up with a pleasing composition. The scenery was just too much to take in, there was nothing to put in the foreground. What I really needed was to watch this video by Photo Tom so that I could have avoided these 7 common mistakes that he sees in his landscape workshops.

So let’s hear what Thoma says are the most obvious mistakes that he keeps seeing with beginner landscape photographers.

I’m definitely going to try to remember these things the next time I go out to shoot landscapes. Have you been making any of these mistakes?