If you thought that the Canon EOS R5 will take a beating for its heating issues, think again. The R5 just won top seller over at B&H, and is ranked as the #1 seller in the mirrorless category. The second and third in line are EOS R6, and Sony A7III which held the first position for a very long time is now only ranked in the third spot. [note: if you look at the B&H site via mobile Canon EOS M50 and Sony a6100 hold places 3 and 4, I suspect that it has more to do with their usage as streaming cameras and not with those bodies being used for actual shooting, but we will have to see what happens to sales once COVID-19 goes away. More on that below]

 

I am putting the heating issues aside. One of my Facebook friends put it just right: “Who needs 8K, it’s totally redundant. Also, how can you work like that when I shoot 8K and the camera heats up”. So, lets put the heating issues aside. What I find interesting is that the EOS R5 and R5 are the most sold camera right now, even though they are not in stock yet, and even though Canon expects delays in shipping, and even though there are not enough real-world reviews of the cameras from pro users. (I am not dissing the youtube review channels, but before investing almost $4,000 I would like to see the camera used a bit before hitting that buy button). And before I wrap this up, here is a small gift from the folks at EOSHD.

What do you think, should we wait before getting this camera?