Irix has recently expanded their cinema line of lenses by the addition of a new wide-angle lens, the 15mm T2.6. We have received one of the first batches of this lens, and we started putting it to the test. The results so far are very promising. As of right now, IRIX has 3 Lenses in their cine-lens lineup. They have the 45mm T1.5, which we reviewed here, the 150mm T3.0, and their 11mm T4.3. With the addition of their new 15mm T2.6, we see that IRIX is slowly building quite the portfolio of lenses. At first, I wondered if the 15mm would maybe be a little too wide and close to the 11mm. However, after some thinking, I thought that this lens would have a lot of use-cases for super 35 and my Blackmagic P4k.

On a Super 35 sensor, this lens converts to about 20mm. When you mount the lens Blackmagic P4k (with an adaptor), it ends up being about 30mm. It turns out this lens is probably going to be more useful than just wide angles on a full-frame!

I’ve only just picked up the lens, and I still have a lot of tests to put it through, but I’ve put together a short video walk with the lens on the sony A7III full frame. At first glance, you can tell that the lens manages to keep everything with pretty straight lines, considering how wide it is. I’m also pleasantly surprised by how fast the lens is. I did not need to bump the ISO that much for the night cityscapes.

As we gather more footage from this lens, we will be sure to update, so stay tuned for our full review.