Sending photos through various apps on our smartphones has become one of the most common means of visual communication. Every month, 17 billion photos are sent only through Facebook Messenger. So, Facebook has decided to improve photo sharing for their users. Instead of 2K, you can now send 4K images through Messenger.

To be more precise, you can now send images up to 4,096 x 4,096 pixels per image. If you’d like to take advantage of the new feature now, keep in mind that you need to update your Messenger app. And if you’re wondering how this will affect the speed: Facebook claims there’s nothing to worry about. Your photos will be sent in higher resolution “as quickly as before.”

The new feature is rolled out today for both iPhone and Android. For now, it’s available in the following countries: US, Canada, France, Australia, the UK, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan, and South Korea. Facebook is planning to expand it to additional countries in the following weeks. In this post, you can see the difference between the previous 2K resolution and the latest upgrade that lets you upload the photos in 4K:

Personally, I don’t use Messenger because it makes my phone even laggier than it usually is. But even if I did, I wouldn’t find the 4K resolution essential. I usually send snapshots of my pets or home improvements, and I guess no one would want to see those in hi-res anyway. But I’d like to hear your thoughts – would you find this helpful for sharing your photos with friends or maybe even clients? Posted by Messenger on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 [via DPReview]