Laugh all you like, but this has got me a little excited. Godox have just announced a new flash trigger for their 2.4Ghz wireless range. But this isn’t just any old standard flash trigger. Oh, no. This one’s for your mobile phone! The Godox A1 features three built in LEDs, as well as a “hernia flash”. But it also supports their full range of 2.4Ghz speedlights and strobes. While most of us won’t be considering replacing our DSLRs & mirrorless cameras with iPhones just yet, I think this is fantastic. Soon I’ll be able to get behind the scenes shots with my phone, with my subject lit the way I intended.

There’s not a whole lot of information out yet. In fact, that last paragraph pretty much covers it. We’ll be sure to update this post as we find out more information, though.

At the moment, it seems certain that iOS will be supported, given the photos below, although no mention of Android. Godox also haven’t said if they’ll create a custom camera app or if it will work with existing apps. I don’t recognise the app shown in the photographs (but I tend to just stick with Camera+). So, if you recognise it, let us know what it is in the comments.

I’ll get one of these for behind the scenes shots alone, but it does open up all kinds of options. What do you think? Will you get one? Or is it just a bit of a gimmick? [via Godox US]