I was really happy about Instagram’s recent Story likes – no more DMs with emojis, just a little heart when I open the Story views. However, it looks like Instagram Story replies are about to become worse than they used to be. Reverse engineer and mobile developer Alessandro Paluzzi recently discovered that Instagram might add voice messages as Story replies. So, instead of people reacting to your Stories with a simple emoji (or, God forbid, a message), they might soon be able to record audio messages for you.

“Instagram is working on the ability to reply to Stories with voice messages,” Alessandro wrote simply in a recent tweet. He posted a screenshot of the app showing the options for replying to a Story. Other than the standard emojis, GIFs and messages, there’s also a microphone icon for audio messages.

Other than voice messages, people might also be able to reply with images soon. I quite like that since my friends and I have a meme for every occasion. And it’s much quicker to look at a picture than read or listen to a lengthy message.

As you could have probably concluded, I’m not a fan of direct messages that are merely a result of Story replies. They clutter my inbox for no reason and provide no useful information or much-needed laughter. I’m a big fan of Story likes, as they keep my inbox remains nice and clean. Thankfully, you can switch message Story replies off, so I hope it will also be available for those in form of a voice message. Of course, Instagram still hasn’t commented on the feature since it’s not yet official. But if they do, we’ll keep you posted and update the article. In the meantime, let me know if you’d find this useful or do you plan to switch off Story replies in total if it becomes a thing? [via Engadget]

Great  people might soon reply to your Instagram Stories with voice messages - 7Great  people might soon reply to your Instagram Stories with voice messages - 69