One question that I see coming up daily in various photography groups on Facebook is “What’s the best portrait lens?”, and the simple truth is that there isn’t one.  It depends on the camera system you’re using, the look you’re trying to achieve, and a bunch of other factors. In this video, Joe Edelman shares his wisdom and offers some advice on choosing a lens that will give you the look you want in your portraits.

Taking us through a range of focal lengths, Joe shows examples on how each will affect your subject when framed to fill the shot, as well as the effect it has on the background.

While 24mm with your subject a little further back might actually work out great for an environmental portrait, it certainly doesn’t do headshots any favours, and very noticeably distorts the facial features.

So, pulling back and using a longer focal length generally offers a more flattering and pleasing result, and your subject’s face is going to be prominent in the frame.

Joe’s personal favourite portrait lens is the Tokina 100mm f/2.8 Pro D Macro Lens, and I can certainly understand the logic behind that.  While I’m not huge Tokina fan myself, I also regularly choose to go with a similar focal length macro lens for portraits, with the Nikon 105mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor.

Why the D over the newer G version with vibration reduction?  Well, VR offers me no advantage (I’m always using it with flash or in very bright conditions) and the D version is just as sharp, but it also has an aperture ring, meaning I can use it on my old Nikon & Nikkormat film bodies, too. What’s your favourite portrait lens?  And on which body do you shoot it?  Let us know in the comments. [via ISO1200]