Really quick and dirty article for you this week on a handy little tip I found myself having to find for a solution to a problem. I was doing a photoshoot with this subject when I noticed how awesome the decking looked, I decided that I wanted to get a shot of him led down on the decking but still wanted that jawline / chin to pop. He didn’t feel comfortable forcing his chin towards the camera while laying down due it being difficult as hell because your head is heavy!

How did I fix this? (check 1:00 in!).

I noticed he had a tennis ball and a plant pot lying around, 1+1 = height and a soft object = supported head = popping chin / jawline!

Replace this with books, balls, pillows etc whatever you can to hide under the head of the subject and give them that support they need. Did you even realise the subject was laying down in this shot? Looks like he’s stood against a wall right? Hope this helps you if you ever find yourself in this very particular situation! Cheers guys!-JP

How to define the chin on sky faced subjects  - 36How to define the chin on sky faced subjects  - 18