If you go out on a shoot in the rain or in the snow, you;d better make sure your gear is protected. I mean Cameras, strobes and water don’t mix well together. I know Ilko does a nylon bag thingy when he goes out in the rain, and now, I see Manny Ortiz doing a similar thing in the snow. They both use a plastic bag to protect strobes. (Well, Manny also uses a collapsible wescott brolli to hide from the rain). I wonder if this nylon thing is common for shooting in harsh conditions. My hacker brains tells me it’s a great idea, then my skeptic brain is worried about color shifts, heat building up and nylon melting on the strobes.

There you have it, a strobe covered in a grocery bag:

Manny used a Sony a6500, and it produces gorgeous results with the 85mm f/1.4 GM lens, though it does not come cheap ($1789). The interesting thing for me was that the Godox X1 triggers were still able to exercise full control of the AD600 and TT685S  strobes. This is a definite place where a radio controlled system out performs an infra red one. [SONY A6500 SNOW PHOTOSHOOT USING GMASTER 85MM 1.4 AND OFF CAMERA FLASH | Manny Ortiz]