Stop motion and timelapse enthusiast, Hugo Cornellier reposts and updates his selfie timelapse every year or so, each time adding another 12 months’ worth of images onto the stack. This time around, he’s decided to ramp up the production value and stabilise all of the shots giving a much smoother and cleaner video, and he’s going to show us all how it was done.

First up, let’s see the fruits of his labour.

While I have some pretty long term projects going myself, I have to admit that I don’t have the dedication to try something like this.  None of my own projects require daily attention, and certainly not for such a long period of time. As mentioned, Hugo has also provided a tutorial to show how he shoots and stabilises all the images, stopping himself from flying around the screen on playback.

The results certainly seem to work pretty well, although I wonder how good a job something like After Effects’ motion stabilizer or warp stabilizer tools could do on something like this, especially given how closely he’s trying to match and shoot each shot to the previous image anyway. One thing’s for sure, as Hugo gets older, you can certainly tell which month is November!