The race for online popularity and approval is everlasting, and there are plenty of methods people use to get it. But in one Russian mall, there’s a pretty unusual method of buying Instagram likes and followers: at a vending machine.  And it’s not a joke, it really exists and works. You have to admit, this is the weirdest way so far to get fake online attention.

A journalist Alexey Kovalev spotted this strange vending machine in Moscow and shared the image on his Twitter account. He writes that the vending machine lets you print your Instagram photos and buy likes or followers for your Instagram or Vkontakte profile. The price is 50 rubles, which is around $0.9 per 100 likes.

But if your hunger for likes is larger than this, there’s a premium option as well. For $850, you can buy 150,000 followers. They guarantee to deliver up to 1500 Likes for each post you make on Instagram. If this doesn’t satisfy your hunger for online fame, I don’t know what will.

I must say I’m really surprised something like this exists. I mean, I still can’t even embrace the concept of buying fake followers and likes on social networks. I know it’s how the world works today, but I find it all pretty… sad. So it’s hard for me to imagine people would buy “friends” like they do candy bars or cans of soda. As far as I’m concerned, I’d rather keep making real friends and organic social media likes, and head to a vending machine only when I need some sugar or caffeine. How about you? Would you use a vending machine like this or it’s just too much? [via Endgadget]

Hungry for likes  Get them at this Instagram vending machine - 21