Well, this is new. Created by Germany-based landscape photographer Christian Möhrle, what we have here is Infrascapes. Made from around 20,000 images shot over the course of 4 months of his free time, this may just be the world’s first 8K infrared timelapse.

The images were created around southern Germany using a modified Canon EOS 750D (T6i) and a variety of lenses. For camera movement, he used the Syrp 3-axis motion system. Christian tells DIYP that the whole thing took around 300 hours to complete. That includes all of the shooting, post-processing and editing. And all of that post work was done using Lightroom and After Effects.

I always thought infrared landscapes looked pretty cool anyway. But to see infrared video and timelapse is so uncommon that I just get hooked into it as soon as I see it. And this one does look particularly impressive with some stunning views.

Christian also posted a tutorial recently on how he created some of his infrared timelapse sequences. And, to be clear, this isn’t how to fake an infrared look in post. This is how to process images shot with a camera that’s been converted to see infrared.

For a few years now, I’ve been debating back and forth whether I should get one of my DSLRs converted over to infrared. Every time I see something cool like this it makes me want to do it – then I remember that it typically costs more to convert the camera than it does to buy the camera. I might pick up an already-converted used one at some point. Or I may just keep watching other people create these really cool photos and videos and moan about how I don’t have an IR camera. It could go either way, to be fair. If you want to check out more of Christian’s work, head on over to his YouTube channel. He’s got a whole bunch of videos on there, with many going into the techniques he uses to create his photographs and video.