Most of us neglect filters since they’re cheap and easily replaceable. However, investing in an affordable case for protection wouldn’t hurt as well. That’s especially if you own high-end filters that cost hundreds of dollars or more. In LensVid’s latest video, they review a cheap E-Bay case you might want to use for your next shoot.

I remember breaking at least half a dozen UV filters back when I was still a student (due to recklessness and extreme sports). But I didn’t care at all because I was taught that they were mainly used for protection, anyway. Unfortunately, that way of thinking also carried over to my more expensive ND filters and polarizers. Quite frankly, I don’t even have a polarizer right now because I destroyed the last one two years ago.

That’s why I now take care of the only filters I have left (yes, even the cheap ones). And when you invest in something expensive like a Tiffen 52mm variable ND filter, you need to consider protecting that investment.

Unfortunately, most of the filter cases available are soft and offer minimal protection. Thankfully, Lensvid has a better alternative: an unbranded hard filter case. It’s simple, it’s cheap, it’s metal, and it works remarkably according to the makers of the video. [Is This the Ideal Filter Protector? | lensvid.com]