[editor’s note: we got this letter from our reader Jeffrey George. It resonates true. If you look at the reviews on the apple store or the play store, you’ll find quite a few disappointed customers. I am bringing this letters as is] I love how GoPro continues to promote their cameras being used in theses beautiful and remote places. GoPro updated their remote app for controlling the camera with a new app called Capture. GoPro requires a login that they claim only needs entered every 30 days, but if the app updates in the background or you logout, you can’t use the App. Forget to login before your trip, you won’t be able to use the App. There is no bypass when there is no internet. I specifically bought my GoPro to use my smart phone as a controller, worked until the new app update. This requirement to use the internet to use their product is so contrary to why I bought a GoPro. I expected to use their products everywhere. Why would they disable a working feature?

Check out this quote from Nick Woodman in his recent interview on Reddit.

“Our approach is to envision a “total solution” rather than think about each new GoPro as a “product”. Products are standalone things. We want to build solutions that help solve problems for people. So, when deciding which features to included in a new GoPro, Karma, or any new software we think about the total solution and experience we’re creating for our customers and not as much about the individual product itself.” –Nick Woodman (Reddit) GoPro of all companies should realize their customer base plans to “capture” outside the limits of cellular. I bought the GoPro 4 Hero Black specifically for the remote capabilities of using a smartphone almost a year ago and now this functionality is no longer viable. The functionality has always been flakey at best, but occasionally it was really great. GoPro didn’t respond to support requests for over a week, when they did it was a scripted, rushed, and inadequate. GoPro’s support community forums are moderated with scripted generic responses. As a consumer, I have had several GoPro cameras and accessories, but until I can use my camera and the remote capabilities of the smartphone App, I will not buy another product from GoPro. Check the App Store, Facebook comments, user forums, and product reviews. GoPro has alienated their customer base with the new App. I was out capturing the fall color in the Easter Sierras of California a few weeks ago. I was planning on filming using my go pro mounted on the hood. Before pulling into traffic I went to enable the camera and realized my GoPro App had disappeared. I pulled over to the side of the road and went searching. Thankfully I had internet, so I discovered the App changed names. The app came up in my search and when I opened the app, it looked all nice and new, but there was a new login. Okay, my GoPro login worked and I didn’t have to do anything more. I used the App for a couple days, returned home before heading out for the next leg of my fall color trip. Without my knowledge, the App apparently updated and logged me out. So 6 days later when I reached my second destination and prepared my GoPro for my photomast, I discovered the login screen returned. I spent the next hour troubleshooting and looking all through the setting, clicking on all the words in the app, everything I could think of to bypass the login. My shot was missed, I had to pack up with no footage. I had to drive back towards civilization to use the login and was set for the next couple days. I am angry, an action camera shouldn’t need an internet login. If i want to share online, yes, a login is needed. In the city, okay, my life is too boring to care about Big Brother watching how I use my camera. Truth here, I want to use my camera everywhere. I bought this capability as a package like Nick said. Update: there is a petition going on to help GoPro see the public view. You can join here.