I am amazed by the ideas creatives have come up with to keep shooting in isolation. Some have turned to self-portraits, some to macro photography experiments, some to online photo shoots, and so on. There are also those who have turned to video games, and when you think about it – it’s a perfect strategy if you shoot street photography. During quarantine, streets from video games have become the place where some folks take their photos, and to be honest – they look darn amazing!

Speaking to The Next Web, photographer Sean Tucker talked about how the ideas started.

The idea quickly turned into a sort of a movement. There’s even a hashtag #virtualstreetphotography that photographers when sharing their photos from video games. Many shots are from Red Dead Redemption 2, but some photographers shoot street photography in Grand Theft Auto, The Last of Us, and other games. https://www.instagram.com/p/B-XhXfpnPPV/ https://www.instagram.com/p/B-eZ4FyI-OE/ https://www.instagram.com/p/B-EnO4knT2c/

A post shared by nuvolari (@nuvo_foto) https://www.instagram.com/p/B-cvEwmgKcF/ Street photography probably poses the biggest challenge right now, considering that many of us can’t hit the streets. But the current situation leaves many other photographers without work. For example, many portrait shoots have been canceled, so portrait photographers also turn to video games. Jessica Kobeissi has recently published a really cute video covering this topic. She used Animal Crossing to take portraits of the game’s characters.

After watching Jessica’s video, it crossed my mind that we could probably also use Sims to shoot portraits. Or if you’re into automotive photography, I figured that you can turn to Gran Turismo Sport. I’m spending my isolation days at boyfriend’s place and he plays and streams this game. I’m not really into cars, but GT Sport lets you create photos of your car in different settings… And I got hooked!

There are really so many ways to spend your time in isolation. Frankly, I wish I could have more free time to do everything I want. I also can’t go and travel out to take photos, so I manage. I took some self-portraits, I plan some macro shots, and I sometimes make those car photos in GT Sport. You could also take pretty awesome photos through surveillance cameras or using Google Street View. And if playing video games is our favorite pastime activity, well – you can combine it with photography and get some pretty interesting results! Posted by Vozi Vas Vladan on Monday, March 23, 2020 [via The Next Web]