If anyone follows me on social media you may have seen my recent image which I created from Neostock stock model resources and some background stock. Well, I thought I would create a photoshop tutorial based on this image.Advertisements The image itself was created just to dust off the old cobwebs over the Christmas period and get some practice in. The idea came to me from watching fellow Photoshop artist Nemanja Sekulic’s portal video on Youtube. Its good to be inspired by other artists and photographers so don’t be afraid to shout them out if you do. Anyway, I took the various stock images I had and pieced them together like so..

The image itself was a fairly simple composite, but one effect that many people have asked about is the air dispersion…or magnetic field distortion, inside and around the portal. It is a fairly simple technique which I have used before in my images as fire haze and gun haze, but it goes to show how versatile Photoshop is. You can use one technique in hundreds of ways. The magic is all down to the glass filter in Photoshop filter gallery. Most people think these filters to be poor compared to other filters but there is good uses for them. I basically applied the glass filter and painted it into the image using a non-destructive layer mask. Easy peasy, just watch the short video above to see how it’s done.