A few days ago, we spoke about five reasons to use vintage macro lenses. And if you don’t know where to start shooting, here are some pretty cool ideas. In this video, COOPH gives you six macro photography ideas that you have probably never seen or tried before. Let’s see what they’ve got for us and get inspired.

1. Magnetic macro

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been fascinated with magnetic dust and ferrofluid (magnetic fluid). Well, they can be stunning macro photography subjects. The shapes they create look really interesting when you watch them, and capturing them with a macro lens gives them a whole new dimension.

2. Musical macro

Do you still keep your or your parents’ records and CDs? I know I do, but I don’t use them anymore considering that music has been digitalized. The records are making a comeback, though, but I don’t have a gramophone. So if you’re anything like me, don’t throw away those records and CDs. You guessed it – they make interesting macro photography subjects. Although to be fair, I did try photographing CDs, I believe many of us have.

3. Bubble macro

I drink coffee every single morning, I have also shot it many times – but never with a macro lens. Still, its bubbles make a pretty interesting subject. You can also shoot beer bubbles up close, or other fizzy drinks. And yes, I did try it. I guess I drink more beer than coffee.

4. Glowing macro

I think sparklers are so pretty and photogenic. But have you tried shooting them with a macro lens? They kinda look like lava, and it’s pretty cool!

5. Everyday finds

A macro lens lets you rediscover everyday objects: packaging, blinds, towels, rags… Look around you, find or create your lighting, and you can get a ton of abstract photos from everyday subjects.

6. Fruits & fungi

Fruit and their seeds can look amazing in macro photos. You can cut them in very thin slices and stick them on a window or a light to create backlit images. I shot fruit up close, but never this way. And you know that forgotten fruit and veggies you find in the fridge after a vacation? Yeas, the moldy one? It looks (and smells) disgusting, but that mold is very photogenic under a macro lens. So before you throw it out, find your light, take a deep breath and make a couple of shots. Which of these ideas have you tried, and which are new to you? Do you have any unusual ideas for macro photography? Feel free to drop them in the comments below. [Macro photography refined | 6 IDEAS you’ve NEVER SEEN BEFORE via ISO 1200]