Here’s a colour toning tip I picked up from Barrington Russell last year and I still use it to this day! What if I told you that within just 10 seconds of your time you could create complementary / harmonious colours on any image? Depending on how much darkness, contrast, light etc is in your image as well as the colour pallet you currently have this effect will change drastically, but it’s always reliable and always cool. I can almost guarantee you’ll always find a great finishing tone to your image! Let’s do this!

step 01: Take your image.

Step 02: Create a new layer and fill it with a dark blue colour (you can start with whatever colour you like, but I find dark blue works great as a base! Step 03: Set the blend layer to “Exclusion”.

Step 04: Now press CMD+U / CTRL+U to bring up the Hue/Saturation box and slide that Hue around!

Step 05: Once you’ve picked your fancy tone the layer down (I like around 17%) and BOOM!

Before and After:

How is that for an insanely awesome 10 second toning tip? Don’t tell me. It’s awesome ;) Have a productive week my friends!-JP