Both double exposure and light painting photography open up a whole new world of creative possibilities. But photographer Jason Rinehart has combined the two techniques and created a set of photos that grabbed my attention the moment I saw them. These trippy (and slightly creepy) photos were created entirely in-camera, and I chatted with Jason about how he created them.Advertisements

Jason is a light painting artist, and he tells me that a few years ago he developed a light painting technique that he used for this set of images. He uses a king size bed sheet and light paints through it to create his images. He has made a tutorial on how to use this technique, take a look:

 

Ever since he devised his bed sheet technique, Jason has been looking for ways to push himself creatively and add new tricks while using it. He tells me that lately he’s been focused on finding interesting daytime subjects for playing with the bed sheet technique: sunsets, sunrise, moody skies, colorful trees etc. He combines these scenes with a technique called “racking” or “zoom/pull.” As well as the bed sheet and the racking, Jason also used double exposure to create these unusual photos. This is where it gets really fun, he tells me. He shot the photos with a Canon 6D, which has an in-camera double exposure setting. He used the zoom/pull image that he took outside and then set that image to be light-painted over in his studio. Jason warns that it’s important to apply the Additive, not Average mode when using in-camera double exposure. This is because you are adding a new light element to the frame, not an average light source. Jason found that this entire process came together perfectly just a few nights ago when he set out to catch the sunset off of the Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia, USA. Jason was pleased with the result and posted the images on Facebook. When I saw them in my feed, I immediately wanted to hear more about them. And should I say how amazed I was when he told me that they were made in-camera? I think this is one of those projects that make you stop and stare, and enjoy what you’re seeing. And since Jason has shared his technique – you can try and play with it too. I now leave you to more of Jason’s fantastic photos. Make sure to follow his work on his Instagram and Facebook page. And if you’re interested in light painting, check out the YouTube channel LightPaintingPhoto, which he co-runs.

These trippy double exposure photos were made entirely in camera - 96