If you enjoy vintage camera ads, here’s one that’s perfect for “the most wonderful time of the year.” In this video, you’ll see how Kodak promoted its products back in 1959. And if you’re still not in the holiday mood, this ad might just bring you closer to being there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOjXPAUvq8Y

The ad in the video is pretty short, which makes it similar to modern-day ads. It urges you to “buy Kodak gifts for Christmas” and save your memories for many years to come. Comparing it to the modern-day, it reminds us just how much the world has changed in a relatively short time. Nowadays, everyone has at least a phone camera and preserves holiday memories with it. Although, I wonder how many people actually look at those photos regularly, or print them and put them in family albums. I’ve said a couple of times that I enjoy vintage ads. They help me to learn what advertising strategies were like in the past. Also, they show me what camera technology was like before I was born. Or sometimes, they just make me laugh (and cringe). The Kodak ad from 1959 is one of those that let us see what the ads were like in the ‘50s, but it also shows us how much our relationship with photography has changed. All in all, I find it very fun to watch. It bursts with Christmas mood and it could also put you into it. But even if it doesn’t, you’ll at least sing the ad’s theme song for the rest of the day. [Vintage TV Ads: Kodak Christmas ad – 1959 via The Phoblographer]