Twitter has developed into a photographer’s dream platform – almost. This fall, the company enabled uploading higher resolutions images, while keeping the quality. I am not an avid user of Twitter, so yesterday, when I discovered that I can add a dark theme to twitter, I was pleasantly surprised. A dark background is a perfect environment for colors, contrast and shadow detail. Images deserve that. You can enlarge an image when you click on it, and that is a very cool feature. Twitter also adds a frame that reflects the image’s color theme.

What is lacking is better support for verticals. I uploaded one last evening, and this is how it is displayed in the feed:

You must click on the image before it is displayed properly:

This preview experience leads to verticals getting less attention, and this is unfortunate. Hopefully, Twitter will come up with a good solution for verticals. I have viewed my images on both a laptop and a cell phone. The viewing experience is far superior to Instagram and Facebook where white is the default backdrop. Facebook has made it possible to click on an image to view it on black. On Instagram, however, you have to set your cell phone to night mode (if your phone has this option) to get a decent viewing experience. The fact that verticals aren’t cropped like they are on Instagram also speaks to Twitter’s advantage. In addition, the Twitter feed is still chronological. These new Twitter features encourage me to post more images on the platform. What are your experiences with Twitter? Will you now post more images on the platform?