Most of the photographers are very selective about what they put in the portfolio, and that’s understandable – you only want to show your best work. But what about those photos you wouldn’t really consider your best? Should you just delete them? In this video, Chelsea Northrup shares her view on taking and keeping even those “crappy” images. They might mean to you more than you think.

I believe many photographers spend a lot of time preparing for the shoot, getting some fantastic photos and then perfecting them even further in post. And it’s an amazing feeling to end up with photos that you’re proud of and that you want to show off. But what about those less glamorous, everyday shots? Well, they can be even more meaningful to you even if they’re your best work. Chelsea encourages you to capture those unstaged, documentary moments of everyday life. Take photos of your mom making lunch, your husband working in a garage, or your kids playing. She is particularly happy she’s managed to document the time she spent with her grandma. These aren’t the photos she’d put in her portfolio – but they are meaningful to her. Although I tend to delete the photos I don’t like without mercy, I can strongly relate to Chelsea’s point. When I don’t take photos I want to publish, I tend to capture everyday moments with the people I love. I don’t always take a photo of them, but I also sometimes capture a detail from the place we’re at. And I know that this detail will remind me of that entire day whenever I look at the photo. So, even if you spend a lot of time with the camera trying to capture some amazing photos, remember to spend some of it capturing the less amazing – but meaningful ones. They may not end up in your portfolio, but they will be precious memories you will cherish strongly in the years to come. [You should take “crappy” photos! | Tony & Chelsea Northrup]

Why you should take and save even the  crappy  photos - 84